10 MUST-Have Products for a Natural Home

Since starting to switch my family over from chemical toxic filled cleaners to a more natural green lifestyle I have noticed half of the stuff used is things I have always had in my pantry. I remember when I was getting married my mom took me grocery shopping to show me “the things you should always have in your pantry” She threw in Baking Soda, White Vinegar, Apple Cider Vinegar, a HUGE Costco size of Olive Oil. I have to admit I never touched that vinegar for probably 5 years. It moved across the country with us twice and I finally threw it out a few years ago.  But I look back and laugh at how I could of found many uses for that vinegar…you live you learn right? I read a article a few days ago about the 7 things you need in your house for a green lifestyle and I really liked it but I felt like I had things to add so this is my revision of  this article.

1. Coconut Oil: We have become 100% Coconut Oil freaks in this house. I no longer use vegetable oil to spray my pans down or make brownies with, it’s all coconut oil. Seriously, the things you can do with it are endless. Who knew something you can cook with would also be the best diaper rash cream in the world! It’s the bomb diggity.

Coconut Oil when you buy it off the shelf is solid and white but it’s melting point is at 76 degrees so don’t be alarmed if you go to get it out of your pantry and its liquid, it’s still good!! Here are a few ways we use coconut oil in our house

*Diaper Rash Cream

* Homemade Deodorant

*Moisturizer

*Cooking in place of Vegetable Oil (GMO Bath)

*Baking

2. Baking Soda.  I never used Baking Soda other then when baking and to maybe make my fridge smell better. Now I FLY through Baking Soda. It’s just like Coconut Oil, you can do anything with it. This does everything

*Baking

* Homemade Deodorant

*Grout Cleaning

*Carpet Deodorizer

Here is 60 more ways to use Baking Soda

3. Castile Soap: I have only recently hopped on this bandwagon but so far I am enjoying being on it. Castile Soap is an all-natural, oil-based soap that is a staple in every green household. One of the most popular brands is Dr. Bronner’s and they list 18 different uses on the side of the product label. Here is what I have been using it as so far

*Body wash

*Handsoap

*Dish Soap

*Pet Shampoo

4. Microfiber Cloths- If you are going to be green you need to be using the right “accessories” with the main look right? You don’t want to be a natural household and filling up landfills with paper towels. Invest in Microfiber cloths. These babies rock and they clean SO well and the big bonus, they are reusable. Just wash and repeat!

5. Glass Jars. Growing up I remember a few of my friends moms always washing plastic ziploc bags and mason jars and reusing them. I thought they were weird but now I find myself saving all my glass jars. I use them for everything. Yes, my deodorant is in a Salsa Jar in the bathroom. My makeup remover is in a mason jar I found at goodwill for .50 cents. Glass is so much healthier for you then plastic especially because of the toxins in them. Pinterest is littered with glass jar ideas, another multi-functional piece!

6. Essential Oils– If you have never used essential oils or are unsure how to use the ones you have I recommend starting with the basics, ones you can use for cleaning and personal use. Lemon, Lavender, Peppermint, Thieves are just a few. Here are a few ways you can use oils. There are a million!

*Homemade Multi-Purpose Cleaner

*Diffuse to purify the air and make your house smell good

* Mosquito Repellent

*Fever Reducer

*Bath Salts

*Vapo Rub

*Sunburn Relief

* Neosporin

7. Vinegars-  My new love! There are 2 vinegars you need. White Vinegar and Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar. Don’t get the heinz at the store for ACV, you want the good stuff. I recommend Braggs. Here are just a few ways…

* use in a detox bath

* Shampoo (The ACV Rinse)

* Grout Cleaner

* Furniture Polish

* Floor Cleaner

* Hot Tea for coughs and colds.

8. Carrier Oils- Carrier Oils include almond, jojoba, grapeseed, olive, etc., and are used as the base for many homemade healthy and beauty products.

9. Steam Mop- I know some of the things I listed can also be used as a floor cleaner but I have found another great way to clean your floors is to steam it and just using water is pretty non-toxic 🙂  We invested in a steam mop and I LOVE mine. I still break out the old mop and bucket and create a natural floor cleaner every so often but for the most part this does the trick!

10. Purifying Plants/ Diffuser- There are plants that purify the air. I read a article somewhere not so long ago that inside your own home is usually more toxic then the air you breathe outside. UMMM GROSS! If you can get your hands on some of these plants I say go for it.

Bamboo Palm: Removes Formaldehyde and is said to be a natural humidifier 

Snake Plant: Removes nitrogen oxides

Areca Palm- One of the best for overall air cleanliness

Also a diffuser is something to consider. Diffusing Essential Oils not only makes your house smell perty it also serves a purpose, to clean the air. Diffusing oils gets rid of the toxins in the air not putting more back in when you spray your can of glade. Young Living makes awesome diffusers! (contact me for more info)

So there you have it 10 things you need to start your journey!!!

 

Leave a Reply

